3 Months in South America – The Itinerary

South America on a Shoestring

Spent the past couple of days plotting exactly where I want to head on my trip to South America. I’ve linked this blog to my Facebook account too, so I won’t keep getting locked out everytime I want to log in like I did in Europe…

So here’s the plan:

I will be spending the first 6 weeks journeying through Peru, Bolivia and Chile. I’ll try my hand at a variety of activities, including sandboarding, white water rafting, horseriding, biking down the infamous Bolivian Death Road, trekking through the world’s deepest canyon, driving across the legendary mirror-like salt flats in Uyuni, hiking along the Apolobamba range, visiting the highest capital city on earth, spending a week in the Amazon rainforest, and finally commencing in Cuzco to embark on a 4 day trek to Machu Picchu.

From Cuzco I’ll head south to Buenos Aires in Argentina. I’ll be spending just over 2 weeks sightseeing, probably stopping at Cordoba and Mendoza before crossing the border back into Chile and visiting Santiago, the country’s capital. From there I will bus it back to Buenos Aires ready to embark on the home stretch to Rio.

Leaving Buenos Aires I’ll cross the Argentinian border into Uruguay, checking out the country’s capital Montevideo before heading on to stay at a working ranch. From there it’s back into Argentina and up to Iguazú Falls, which was announced as one of the seven winners of the New Seven Wonders of Nature. There I’ll have the chance to cross into Paraguay for a short visit before heading over to Brazil. From Sao Paulo I’ll travel to the colonial town of Paraty before catching a ferry to the beautiful island of Ilha Grande. After a couple of days on the beach I’ll be making my way to my final stop: Rio de Janeiro!

2 thoughts on “3 Months in South America – The Itinerary

  1. Just curious… are you planning on driving, taking a bus, or flying all over the place? After having lived in Buenos Aires for 15 months and realizing the vast distances between cities in that country, I think your plan is definitely aggressive. I’m curious to see how it all turns out!

    • Don’t worry everything’s sorted apart from the couple of weeks I have in Argentina – left that open so I can be flexible. I will be on organised tours at the beginning and end of the trip so all transport is sorted, though yes there are a few flights involved. I’m looking forward to seeing how it all turns out too!

Leave a Reply

