Sunny Mendoza and 48 hours in Chile

After spending just over a week in Buenos Aires I decided to book some long distance buses and head off alone. It was a 15 hour drive to Mendoza, and when I got there the view of the mountains was stunning. On my first day I just had a little wander around the town, then the next day I headed off on a day excursion up into the mountains.

DSCN2010

The views were breathtaking (I had more photos but they´ve annoyingly disappeared from my memory card!)

DSCF2533

DSCF2534

DSCF2535

And here´s Aconcagua, the highest mountain in South America:

DSCF2536DSCF2547

DSCF2549

DSCF2550

DSCF2565

DSCF2566

DSCF2567

DSCF2568

DSCF2569

Next day I had a little wander to the park with two friends from my hostel. It was quite arid (keep forgetting it´s winter here) but they were filling up the lake with water when we got there.

DSCN2011

DSCN2012

DSCN2013

So after a few days chilling in Mendoza, I caught a bus across the border to Chile. It was a 6 hour drive and the views of the Andes were stunning. Crossing the border was relatively easy, apart from getting pounced on by a sniffer dog for leaving an old apple at the bottom of my bag… sorry… luckily I didn´t get fined.

DSCN2030

DSCN2033

DSCN2035

DSCN2041

DSCN2042

DSCN2043

DSCN2044

When I arrived in Santiago I had no idea that I´d arrived on probably the worst day of the year… riot vans raced past me as I left the bus station. As my taxi turned onto my hostel´s road, a gang of masked guys came out and blocked the road, throwing a bin at my taxi and setting fire to the rubbish in front of us. I was like argh what the hell?! My taxi swerves away and we get further down the road, and then I discover my hostel is literally metres from the gang. Reluctantly I get out and head inside my hostel.

It´s empty bar one couple and I find out that this is what´s going on: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/11/chile-coup-anniversary-clashes_n_3906079.html.

Great!

DSCN2047

DSCN2049

DSCN2050

DSCN2052

A peculiar Chilean specialty, ‘mote con huesillo’… sweetcorn with peaches in juice. Actually not too bad!

DSCN2054

DSCN2056

DSCN2058

DSCN2059

DSCN2060

DSCN2063

DSCN2065

Took a couple of pictures of a protest outside my hostel the next night but it was tame compared the previous day.

DSCN2066

DSCN2070

DSCN2071

I quickly hotfooted it to the bus station and booked a bus ticket back to Buenos Aires!  21 hours on a bus and I´m here 🙂

Leave a Reply

